1) Keep up with the most up-to-date information on PMI COVID-19 updates via visiting the official PMI COVID-19 Update online page: https://www.pmi.org/about/coronavirus-single-source-message.

2) The LAST date to take PMP/CAPM exam using using PMBOK 6th edition is December 31, 2020. The FIRST date to take the PMP/CAPM exam using new 7th edition is January 2, 2021.

3) Online Registrations OFFICIALLY CLOSED On AUGUST 24TH  for the 2020 FALL PMI CHICAGOLAND VIRTUAL PMP/CAPM STUDY GROUPS. The nine week, Study Group sessions are underway! No additional PMP/CAPM Study Group sessions using PMBOK 6th ed. are planned for remaining 2020.

4) Check out our Chapter's Certification Education Vendor Partner's (COMNet Group, MindEdge, Project Road, and NEW Disciplined Agile vendor training course offering on our chapter site. Discounts and promotions are offered if you take their courses using our chapter's website.

Note: While it is recommended that you seriously consider taking our recommended education vendor courses, you're free to take courses from other vendors/universities of your choice.

5) WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT DISCIPLINED AGILE? To view information on  the new PMI supported certifications associated with Disciplined Agile (DA), please visit:  https://www.pmi.org/disciplined-agile/certifications

Questions can be sent to Cynthia Davis, [email protected]

PMI Certification

"Professional certification ensures that project managers are ready to meet the demands of projects across the globe."

PMI Certifications     PDU Requirements     Earn Certifications

What makes PMI certifications special?

PMI was the first organization to offer a credential specifically for project managers, and our certification program remains the global standard. Developed by practitioners for practitioners and representing our diverse global audience, PMI certifications give you a technical and financial edge.

There are currently eight credentials available, rigorously developed, globally accredited and easily transferable across borders and industries. These credentials represent a variety of discipline and experience across the career framework associated with the profession of project management.

Regardless of where you are in your career, PMI has a certification for you. Demonstrate your expertise and your commitment to the profession with a PMI certification. The decision to earn a project management certification is a important one, so make sure you choose one that best fits your current expertise and your future career plans. You can apply for any certification that matches your qualifications, and no certification serves as a prerequisite for another.

PMI Certifications

  • PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP®)

    Recognizes demonstrated knowledge and expertise in the specialized area of assessing and identifying project risks along with plans to mitigate threats and capitalize on opportunities.

  • PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP®)

    Created for those who believe in and apply agile principles and practices on projects. It requires a combination of training, experience and an exam. It also bridges agile approaches such as SCRUM, XP, LEAN and Kanban.

  • PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP®)

    Recognizes demonstrated knowledge and advanced experience in the specialized area of developing and maintaining project schedules.

  • Program Management Professional (PgMP®)

    Designed for those who manage multiple, complex projects to achieve strategic and organizational results.

  • Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP®)

    Portfolio management certification recognizes the advanced experience and skill of portfolio managers. The PfMP demonstrates your proven ability in the coordinated management of one or more portfolios to achieve organizational objectives.

  • PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA®)

    Highlights your expertise in business analysis. It spotlights your ability to work effectively with stakeholders to define their business requirements, shape the output of projects and drive successful business outcomes.


PDU Requirements

Learn more about PDUs requirements, how to earn and claim them. Visit Maintain Your PMI Credential


Earn Additional PMI Certifications

You could also consider earning another PMI certification, such as a PMI-ACPSM, PMI-SP® or PMI-RMP®, to complement your PMP®. Or, if you’re now working at a higher level, think about moving up from a CAPM® to a PMP®.


Back to Top